Hello everyone!

Did anyone catch the Miss America Competition last night? I caught a small portion of it. I have to admit I wasn’t terribly interested this year to be honest. Every year it seems to be the same thing over and over again. Not much in the way of fashion, empty rehearsed answers to predictable questions and plastic smiles fueled by the hope that their name will be called to be crowned Miss USA. I opted to skip it. Now I wish I didn’t. 

One thing I can note is that I noticed the women this year were a lot more “curvy” than normal. I thought this was a positive step towards a healthy body image for women since we are all used to the stick skinny women being portrayed as beautiful on TV. It was refreshing to see women whose hip and waist ratio reflected a little more “truer” to what us regular women look like. But on that note I will digress.

Miss USA is Indian.

Does this make her any less American? Well according to some of the Twitter responses last night I guess so. Since I am an avid Twitter scroller/tweeter I didn’t have to watch the show to know something epic had happened to bring the racists out in full force.

 

“If you’re #Miss America you should have to be American,” tweeted one person. She is American. Or is the implied statement that American only coincides with being white American?

“Miss America? You mean Miss 7-11,” tweeted Jplman95.

“Miss America right now or miss Al Qaeda?” 

WOW! 

I’m not of Indian heritage but I don’t have to look far in my family to see the very same faces as Ms. Nina Davuluri staring back at me. Some days, it’s just a quick glance in the mirror. But I can say this. Even though its 2013 there are still A LOT of people young and old who harbor the same racist thoughts and feelings that fueled slavery and indentured servitude many years ago. It hasn’t changed. People need to stop using the clock to determine if racism is over and actually make positive steps to stop this learned behavior from being taught to the next generation. That way in 2025 we won’t have to ask the rhetorical question, ” It’s 2025, how can this type of prejudice still exist?”

Congrats to Nina Davuluri!

Image

 

 

