Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hello everyone.

I spent christmas morning much they way I do every year, gabbing on the phone to my friend till one of us notices its past midnight and now Christmas day. Well this year was no exception. After 20 minutes we both said our “Merry Christmas'” then “goodbyes” and I drifted off to sleep. Problem is I didn’t stay asleep which was disappointing because I just wanted to sleep in past my normal “wake up” time but my body had other plans and I was determined to fight it. In between my body’s wins and my loses I figured I should put the ‘awake’ time to good use and bbm (yep I must be one of the last Mohicans with a Blackberry in a sea of Iphone and Android users) or text my family and friends “Merry Christmas” before I force my mind to sleep past 10 am. I texted and bbm’d everyone that I thought mattered. I got 2 interesting responses that I didn’t expect. One from D43 (check my earlier posts on his tom foolery) and M (the guy I confessed my attraction to who replied “I’m flattered” before disappearing with the wind). I was shocked.

And it wasn’t a mass BBM or text message blast because each message had my name in them. I didn’t know what to say, so I rolled over and went back to sleep. The one person I didn’t hear from is the ex. I wasn’t expecting to hear from him, after all he is a selfish user and there is nothing for him to gain by sending me seasons greetings so why would he?But I was surprised to hear from those 2 more so M then D43. If you recall, I messaged M after the “I’m flattered” comment and he didn’t reply which I figured told me everything I need to know. Yet there he was saying, Merry Christmas Bronze, enjoy the day with your friends and family…..wow…

I replied and wished him the same as well and I saw that he read it (one of the perks of BBM – take that iphone users! lol). However, D43 was another story. He wanted me to know that he made an effort to contact me and he wanted to know how I was doing. Yawn… I’m not interested and I can’t remember how the rest of the convo went. I’m not his option.

I’ve decided to go out more. A co-worker has shown me a networking site for professionals. He says it’s a great way to meet like-minded men who are in the same field as me or similar. Why not? I love to network. I’ll keep you guys posted on how it all turns out. I was siting and thinking Christmas day how great my summer was and apart of that was because I went out and did things outside of my comfort zone and tried new and interesting things. I plan to research some events and things to do this winter. I think it will do wonders for me and help me to meet new and interesting people. What do you think??

What do you do in the winter to meet new people?

